Oregon: Smoking in a Car with Kids Can Cost You $500
This week a number of new laws come into action in Oregon and many of them will affect both citizens and businesses. Several of these laws are implemented to make the community healthier.
Not very good news for smokers is that tax on cigarettes is increasing by 13 cents, that will lead to cigarettes price increase.
It is considered that the increase is enough to make people reduce their tobacco use, however, very few people told they’d quit the habit because of the change.
Besides this, a new law will make driving with kids and smoking illegal. As to smokers, the vast majority of them unanimously agreed with this legislature’s move. In case the law is violated, smoker faces a fine of $250 for a first offense and $500 for subsequent ones.
“I agree with them on that. It’s for the well-being of the kid and you have to think about that. Children do not have the choice,” said Edward Duncan.
Another important law which comes into action from January 1, 2014, deals with tanning. In Oregon children had been permitted to bronze with parental permission. but from January 1, a doctor’s permission will be necessary. Ryan Tuckers, the owner of Sunsational Tanning in Eugene, thinks that the law’s goals are good but worries about putting a stigma on tanning.
These days tanning is used to treat eczema, psoriasis and acne. However, many doctors may start seeking other treatment options.
Whatever the impact of the new laws, it will be interesting to see how things play out.
- Children Want Smoke-Free Waffle House
- Hawaii Becomes First US State to Raise Tobacco Sale Age to 21
- Smoke-Free Laws Keep Children Healthy